The First Minister today announced Level 4 measures which will affect four areas in our diocese - Stirling, West Lothian, East Dunbartonshire and North Lanarkshire. These begin on Friday at 6pm for a period of three weeks.

Areas in our diocese going into Level 4 measures

  • Stirling.
  • West Lothian.
  • East Dunbartonshire.
  • North Lanarkshire.

When does it start?
Level 4 restrictions begin this Friday (20 Nov) and last three weeks, until Friday 11 Dec.

What it means for parishes in Level 4

  • Mass capacity: 20 (including children).
  • Wedding capacity: 15 (Priest and Couple do not have to wear face coverings). Wedding receptions are not permitted.
  • Funeral capacity: 20.
  • Baptisms 20 (and must be within Mass).

Church Halls

  • Can be used for the streaming of Mass (not other services) but only up to a maximum of 20 people.
  • Church halls are closed for all other purposes and activities.

Pastoral visits to hospitals, care homes and private homes
This is classed as part of the essential care provision and therefore permitted. Travel for this purpose is permitted. Don’t visit too many homes in one morning/afternoon.

What about other areas?

  • Midlothian and East Lothian: move down from Level 3 to Level 2 on Tuesday 24 November.
  • Borders: remains at Level 2.
  • Edinburgh City, Falkirk, Fife remain at Level 3.