The Catholic school attempts to assist parents in helping their children to grow in knowledge, wisdom and virtue
The Archdiocese of St Andrews & Edinburgh contains 10 Catholic high schools and 69 Catholic primary schools. These are operated in partnership with families and local government.

“A good school provides a rounded education for the whole person. And a good Catholic school, over and above this, should help all its students to become saints,” said Pope Benedict XVI in his address to school pupils from across the UK at St Mary’s University College, Twickenham, in September 2010.

The Catholic school attempts to assist parents in helping their children to grow in knowledge, wisdom and virtue so that our young people develop into adults who are both happy and holy as they fulfill their God-given potential. 

Representatives & Contacts

click to view
Vicar Episcopal for Catholic Education

The Very Rev Robert Afayori VE
T: 0131 623 8912
RE Advisors to Schools
Primary                     Secondary

Melissa Gavan         Margaret Barton
T: 0131 623 8907       T: 0131 623 8945

Representatives on Local Authority Education Committees

City of Edinburgh Council
Monsignor Anthony Duffy
East Lothian Council
Deacon Gerard Sheridan
Falkirk Council
Mrs Maureen Harkins
Fife Council
Mr George Haggarty
Midlothian Council
Mr Victor H. Bourne
Scottish Borders Council
Ms Cecile Thorburn
Stirling Council
Ms Mary Rennie
West Lothian Council
Mrs Margaret Russell
North Lanarkshire Council
Mr Jim Duffin
East Dunbartonshire Council
The Reverend John Deighan

Our Schools: A History

Scotland now has 369 Catholic schools, serving over 120,000 pupils, with their popularity ever increasing among Catholic and non-Catholic families.
Catholic schools in Scotland begin to re-emerge in the modern era during a 19th century which saw the arrival of a large influx of immigrants from Ireland into an urbanising Scotland where primary education was becoming compulsory. Catholic schools, however, remained independent of the state with 188 Catholic schools serving 58,000 pupils by 1900.

1918 Education (Scotland) Act brought Catholic schooling into the state system. The law permitted the country’s 224 Catholic schools, serving 94,000 pupils, to retain their distinct religious character in both staffing and curriculum.

“For nearly 100 years, Roman Catholic schools have been part of the Scottish education system,” said Education Secretary John Swinney MSP in 2017, “The Scottish Government welcomes the positive contribution that denominational education has made in ensuring we have successful learners, effective contributors, responsible citizens and confident individuals.”

City of Edinburgh

East Dunbartonshire

East Lothian




North Lanarkshire

Scottish Borders


West Lothian

Addiewell | St Thomas' Primary School

Armadale | St Anthony's Primary School

Ballingry | St Kenneth's Primary School

Bannockburn | St Mary's Primary School

Bathgate | St Columba's Primary School

Bathgate | St Mary's Primary School

Blackburn | Our Lady of Lourdes Primary School

Blackburn | St Kentigern's Academy

Bo'ness | St Mary's Primary School

Bonnybridge | St Joseph's Primary School

Bonnyrigg | St Mary's Primary School

Broxburn | St Nicholas Primary School

Cardenden | St Ninian's Primary School

Carrick Knowe | St Joseph's Primary School

City Centre | St Mary's Primary School, East London Street

Corstorphine | St Andrew's Fox Covert Primary School

Corstorphine | St Augustine's High School

Cowdenbeath | St Bride's Primary School

Cowie | St Margaret's Primary School

Craigmillar | St Francis' Primary School

Dalkeith | St David's High School

Dalkeith | St David's Primary School

Denny | St Patrick's Primary School

Duddingston | Holy Rood High School

Dunfermline | St Columba's High School

Dunfermline | St Margaret's Primary School

East Calder | St Paul's Primary School

Falkirk | St Andrew's Primary School

Falkirk | St Francis Xavier's Primary School

Falkirk | St Mungo's High School

Fauldhouse | St John the Baptist Primary School

Galashiels | St Margaret's Primary School

Glenrothes | St Paul's Primary School

Gorebridge | St Andrew's Primary School

Gracemount | St Catherine's Primary School

Grangemouth | Sacred Heart Primary School

Haddington | St Mary's Primary School

Kelty | St Joseph's Primary School

Kilsyth | St Patrick's Primary School

Kirkcaldy | St Andrew's High School

Kirkcaldy | St Marie's Primary School

Lauriston | St Thomas of Aquin's High School

Leith | St Mary's Primary School

Lennoxtown | St Machan's Primary School

Leven | St Agatha's Primary School

Liberton | St John Vianney's Primary School

Linlithgow | St Joseph's Primary School

Livingston | Howden St Andrew's Primary School

Livingston | St John Ogilvie Primary School

Livingston | St Margaret's Academy

Livingston | St Ninian's Primary School

Loanhead | St Margaret's Primary School

Lochgelly | St Patrick's Primary School

Mayfield | St Luke's Primary School

Morningside | St Peter's Primary School

Musselburgh | Loretto Primary School

Oakley | Holy Name Primary School

Oxgangs | St Mark's Primary School

Peebles | Halyrude Primary School

Penicuik | Sacred Heart Primary School

Pilton | St David's Primary School

Polbeth | St Mary's Primary School

Portobello | St John's Primary School

Prestonpans | St Gabriel's Primary School

Restalrig | St Ninian's Primary School

Rosewell | St Matthew's Primary School

Rosyth | St John's Primary School

Selkirk | St Joseph's Primary School

Slateford | St Cuthbert's Primary School

South Queensferry | St Margaret's Primary School

St Andrews | Greyfriars Primary School

Stenhousemuir | St Bernadette's Primary School

Stirling | Our Lady's Primary School

Stirling | St Modan's High School

Stoneyburn | Our Lady's Primary School

Tranent | St Martin's Primary School

Trinity | Holy Cross Primary School

Whitburn | St Joseph's Primary School

Winchburgh | Holy Family Primary School

Recruitment & Employment